Czech-ing out the snow

Stop one on our incredible Eastern Eurotrip was, of course, Prague. After visiting in April I felt relatively confident getting around the city and we made the most of snowy mornings and blue sky afternoons by walking everywhere from Wenceslas Square to the Metronome park. I feel like in April there were markets exactly like the Christmas markets but with less Christmas? I guess Prague is just a Christmassy type city all year round! Of course, during our day walks, we had to make a few coffee stops along the way because, despite this being my third winter in the snow, I still have not mastered the art of keeping my toes warm. Three pairs of socks, thermals, furry boots…why can’t I get it right?

We spent a lot of time eating goulash and dumplings and slightly less time doing anything particularly cultural, but Prague is an amazing walking city and we saw all sides of the castle, in a very a different light to my spring time trip.

Prague April vs December

Prague April vs December

Prague April vs December

Prague April vs December

Prague Christmas Markets

Prague Christmas Markets

Prague Christmas Markets

Prague Christmas Markets

Prague Christmas Markets

Prague Christmas Markets

Prague Christmas Markets

Prague Christmas Markets

Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Orchestra

Prague

Medieval restaurant on the walk to the castle – the dream!

Prague

Getting Alex covered in snow

Prague

Prague

Goal!

Goal!

 

Prague Castle

Prague Castle

Prague

Well I guess it is that way somewhere!

Prague Christmas Markets

Prague Christmas Markets

Christmas market doughnuts

Christmas market doughnuts

Prague!

Prague!

After two days in Prague we jumped on a train to visit my Czech family’s old home town; Ostrava. My aunt still lives there and she met us at the end of our snowy voyage across the Czech countryside. She told us, in broken English, that Ostrava has a castle! Great! But it turns out the castle is actually the remains of the old mine on the outskirts of the city. Safe to say that Ostrava is not the most beautiful town in the Czech Republic. After wandering the grey, slushy streets almost in tears over the state of my toes, we popped into a restaurant to eat dinner at 4pm and then drank all their beer all evening. Alex convinced us to drink absinthe (I promised myself never again) and I was thoroughly in need of passing out by 10:30pm. I remember having a messy snow fight, do not remember devouring a street vendor chicken burger and awoke to Alex returning home at 8am! So actually, Ostrava was quite the adventure. But no, I don’t recommend you go…

Czech countryside

Czech countryside

Ostrava main square

Ostrava main square – the pretty side!

4pm goulash and dumpling dinner in Ostrava

4pm goulash and dumpling dinner in Ostrava

4pm goulash and dumpling dinner in Ostrava

4pm goulash and dumpling dinner in Ostrava

Leave a Reply

