Chocolate, beer and mussels…

No prizes for guessing where I went this weekend. It only took us three hours to get the Eurostar to Bruges, Belgium for a mini break. It is yummy, as is well documented by most people. It is a beautiful, medieval, canal city, also a well known story. But I really liked how simple everything seems in Bruges – it was kind of like France. But quieter and cleaner. And with Speculoos EVERYWHERE. Oh my how I love Speculoos.

I’m slightly ashamed and slightly proud to have drunk far too much local beer at the Christmas market on Saturday night, rendering me absolutely useless on Sunday. Although it didn’t stop me from eating more mussels and testing chocolate, the 366 steps of the Belfry tower were definitely out of the question, as was any more beer tasting.

My favourite thing about Bruges? Cherry waffles and the beautiful canals. Not so favourite? I thought the Christmas market was disappointing – although it was the first weekend so perhaps things hadn’t got into the full swing – I found most of the stalls were selling the same, crappy, plastic stuff you get at most markets. Also, being such a history nerd, I am quite easily suckered in to these ‘live historical experiences’ that are really just headphones and awkward mannequins dressed in medieval clothes…I have done them in many places. The Historium in Bruges was the best designed but worst story I have seen.

The beer was good though, obviously!

A few of the picturesque scenes…

Bruges

Bruges

Bruges canals

Bruges canals

Bruges canals

Bruges canals

The Belfry; Bruges

The Belfry; Bruges

Speculoos

Speculoos

Bruges Waffles

Bruges Waffles

Beer and the Markt, Bruges

Beer and the Markt, Bruges

Bruges

Bruges

Minnerwater, Bruges

Minnerwater, Bruges

Begijnhof

Begijnhof, Bruges

Bruges Markt

Bruges Markt

The best dessert ever?

The best dessert ever?

Leave a Reply

